Google Drive allows you to share files with others, as well as work on them simultaneously with others.
How do I share an individual document with someone else?
To share a file stored on your Google Drive, click on the file. Then click the Share icon .
You can share your document with other people by entering their e-mail addresses in the blank. Then select the permissions that you’d like to give them for the document:
- Can edit--can view and edit the document, by default, they can also share the document with others.
- Can comment--can view the document and create comments, but not edit the text
- Can view--can view but not edit the document
To change users’ access to the file, or to edit the general level of access to the document, click the Advanced link.
There, you can change the access available to people by clicking on the dropdown menu next to their name, or remove their access by clicking the X next to their name.
By default, anyone with Can Edit access can change these sharing permissions. If you’d like to change that, click the “Prevent editors from changing access and adding new people” link.
You can also change who in general is allowed to access the document by clicking on the Change… link next to the access level on top.
- Off - Specific People--only people that you specifically invite can access or edit the document
- On - People at CNU with the Link--people with CNU Connect accounts can access your document, but it won’t be searchable
- On - Christopher Newport University--your document can be accessed and searched by anyone with a CNU Connect account
- On - Anyone with the Link: anyone can access the document, but it won’t be searchable
- On - Public on the Web: your document is searchable and accessible on the web.
Sharing from Within a Google Document
You can also share a document that you’re currently editing. To do so, just click on the Share button. This will open the same windows seen when sharing a file from the outside.
How does folder sharing work?
You can share entire folders the same way that you share documents. Either click the folder and click the “Share” button
, or click the share button while in the folder.
All subfolders and documents within the folder will be shared with the exact permissions that you give the folder. When you create a new document in the folder, it will have the same permissions as the rest of the folder. You can change those permissions by editing individual files’ or subfolders’ permissions.
How can I edit a document with a colleague?
Google Drive allows for you to edit a document simultaneously with another person. If you are editing at the same time, you will see the other person’s cursor and the changes that they make instantly. The only limitation is that you aren’t able to edit the same cell of a spreadsheet as another person at the same time. You can also chat with your co-editor by using the window on the side.
or call (757) 594-7079